Cognizance

Locked behind iron bars
Chained within the dark
Fortress ,demons stayed
Guard round the clock.

Death lurked around
Feeding on the little
Happiness dormant  .

I lay ,straining my ears
For the gallop of the horses,
With the hope of a Prince Charming approaching to
Rescue me from my ruins.

Time ran out , the sound
Of slipping grains was all
I heard ,my sobs subsided ,
My tears ran out , a warmth
Coursed through my mind,
Strengthening my core .

Clang! went down the chains
The door swung open ,demons
Evaporated , sun light Streamed in and I walked out
Stronger than ever before.

( A poem about me … myself and self realization.)

© SV

6 thoughts on “Cognizance

Leave a Reply

